Founded Upon Love


Tonight I found myself meditating upon love. Really, when all is said and done, everything – absolutely everything is about Love. We were created in love by a loving God to be a natural expression of His love for us. God so loved the world …. Have you ever meditated upon those few simple words? We were created not just for fellowship, but for intimacy with the Creator of All Things. We fell from that place, and God could have started all over again, but that would not have been in keeping with the nature of Love, so He chose instead to pay the ultimate price to restore us to the place from where we had fallen.

Think of it! While we were yet enemies, He laid down His life to restore us to fellowship and intimacy with Himself. I guess we should not be surprised, after all God IS Love and that is what Love does. Oh Yes, he is the Beginning and the End, King of King and Lord of Lords, and many other things, but in the end He is Love, and everything springs from that for in the beginning, Love spoke and brought order form chaos and Love created man in His own image. We are the natural and ultimate expression of God’s love for He knew each of us from before time, and he gave His life for us even before He created us.

Yes, it is all about Love. Jesus said it, when asked the greatest commandment, He said:

‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ On these two commandments hang (are pinned) all the Law and the Prophets.” (Matthew 22:37-40)

Jesus left us one command before He went to the cross:

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:34)

“As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. (John 15:9-12)

I could go on and on, for His Word is a love letter to us. Time and again in words and example His love for us is unveiled. Without love, His Love manifested in us, we are as clanging cymbals. Without Love we can not enter into His presence for we are cleansed, changed and restored by His Love poured out for us on the cross. In the end there remains faith, hope, love … but the greatest of these is love.

For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height—to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. (Ephesians 3:14-19)

Kevin Dougherty
10/30/2009

About hisfool

I am a pilgrim on a journey, one which I pray leads to the day when I stand before the throne of God and hear "Well Done!" Along the way I have encountered good times and bad, been wounded and healed, fallen only to rise again. It does not make me any better, but perhaps, it makes me a little wiser and I pray a little more compassionate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

