It Is Well With My Soul


The other night I awoke with the words from this Hymn by Horatio G. Spafford running through my mind. This is noteworthy only because having been raised Roman Catholic, and been only in Charismatic/Pentecostal churches since then, it is not a hymn I know. In fact the only words I could remember was the refrain

I took a few days to ponder what the Lord was speaking to me. Like no doubt, many others, this has been a time of trial and testing for Debbi and me. It has been a time of testing our resolve to press in to the Lord and to trust Him in all things, and a time and place of laying down all before His throne. Such were the circumstances in which this song was written. In 1871, his only son died, and then his financial future went up in flames in the Great Chicago Fire. In 1873, he planned a trip to Europe. Delayed by business dealings following the fire, he sent his wife and daughters on ahead while he finished his business. While crossing the Atlantic, their ship sank, killing all four of his daughters. Only his wife survived. It was in this context that he penned the words as he traveled by ship to join his wife.

All too often we have the mindset that our Lord “promised us a rose garden.” In reality nothing could be further from the truth. Jesus told his disciples;

These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Our Lord in His goodness has promised us tribulation. Wait a minute you say, in His goodness? Well yes, in his goodness, for in the words of Paul;

“Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,  through whom also we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope.  Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” Romans 5 1-5

You see, tribulation and testing is an essential part of the process of our growth into the fullness of His desire and plan for us. Even as the struggle of a chick to escape it’s shell or a butterfly it’s cocoon is vital if it is to succeed and thrive, so it is absolutely vital that when we face trials and tribulations, we do not run from them, but embrace them. It is here, in the midst of the trials that we build the strength of character, hope, trust, perseverance, and yes, humility so necessary if we are to walk in the fullness of His anointing and not be destroyed.

David wrote many wonderful Psalms. Some of the most beautiful ones came in those times of tribulation. Have you ever read them and wondered how such wonderful, lovely and uplifting words could have come forth in the midst of such adversity? Allow me to suggest to you that it was because David, as a result of his intimate times with the Lord, both knew who he was in the Lord and how to remain in the secret place. As it says in Psalm 91;

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”

David knew where to run when trials came. He knew The Rock who is our Fortress, our High Tower, our Shelter, and our Strength in times of need. He knew how to abide in our God, and in His Peace that defies all understanding. David penned in Psalm 84;

How lovely is Your tabernacle, O Lord of hosts! My soul longs, yes, even faints for the courts of the Lord; My heart and my flesh cry out for the living God….

And;

For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God Than dwell in the tents of wickedness for the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord will give grace and glory; No good thing will He withhold From those who walk uprightly. O Lord of hosts, blessed is the man who trusts in You!

These are the words of a man walking in the midst of trails and tribulation. One who knew pain, spent years on the run because of unjust persecution, and who knew betrayal, cold and hunger. These are the words of a man who knew tribulation and embraced it because he knew who he was, knew he could trust in his Lord, and knew how to dwell in the secret place of the Most High.

Trials come and trials go, but our Lord’s promises remain. He, in His Wisdom, allows the trials to come so we may overcome, grow and step into the fullness of His desire for us. Until we go home we will face trials, count on it, but also know that He will be with you in the midst of every one. The question is will you allow them to make you sour and bitter, or will you worship Him and allow the Lord make you a cool spring, so others may drink and be refreshed in your presence?

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

About hisfool

I am a pilgrim on a journey, one which I pray leads to the day when I stand before the throne of God and hear "Well Done!" Along the way I have encountered good times and bad, been wounded and healed, fallen only to rise again. It does not make me any better, but perhaps, it makes me a little wiser and I pray a little more compassionate.
This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Is Well With My Soul

  1. Chrystal says:

    such a poignant, beautiful reminder….and such a gripping history. may we all learn the secret to true contentment, diving deeper into God’s heart of love for us all.

    “It is here, in the midst of the trials that we build the strength of character, hope, trust, perseverance, and yes, humility so necessary if we are to walk in the fullness of His anointing and not be destroyed.” — that’s it, in its fullness. i wish i could always have this perspective.

    bless you!

Leave a Reply

