Reimagining Church


Frank Viola’s blog “Reimagining Church” Good stuff on the “Organic Church” and just what that means … I am looking forward to some thought provoking and spirit stirring reads here.

via Reimagining Church.

About hisfool

I am a pilgrim on a journey, one which I pray leads to the day when I stand before the throne of God and hear "Well Done!" Along the way I have encountered good times and bad, been wounded and healed, fallen only to rise again. It does not make me any better, but perhaps, it makes me a little wiser and I pray a little more compassionate.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Revival and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reimagining Church

  1. timbob says:

    Good evening. Thanks for making known the site “Reimaging Church. I breezed through some of the posts and one caught my attention. In it, the author mentioned how folks will have differing takes on what an organic church is. I imagine that this would be a problem whenever preconceptions, pet doctrines, or what have you are permitted to dominate. My thinking is that such a gathering of saints, or any gathering of saints for that matter, should be a place where Jesus is the primary focus and the Holy Spirit is not hindered by our notions.

    Sadly this isn’t the norm in most Christian venues where it’s often considered necessary to script everything. To ensure a desired result and punctual end to the gathering we plan everything out from the number of songs sung to the length of the message. Everything seemless and nothing left to chance. Programs and agendas of man too often take center stage. This has been bothering me for a long time. And I fear that oftentime, when some do decide to break out of the mold, the engrained mindsets tag along. This was also touched on by the author.

    It can be a struggle to truly let go of the trappings of “religion” and be in a place to hear what the Spirit is saying. Yet it is imperative for each of us to be in such a place. Sorry for making a comment that’s far longer than the post. Thanks again for making known the site.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  2. hisfool says:

    Frank Viola certainly gives you a lot to think about … I’ve been chewing on what I read today all evening. Your comments are sadly all to true. I even came across a church with their sermons programed through April … they have some good stuff, and a tremendous level of talent in their staff and volunteers but ……

  3. hope411 says:

    The Word via MP3 – what a blessing! Immersing ourselves in God’s Word at all times of the day (and night) is such a powerful thing. It is marvelous that today’s technology makes it possible for us to attain an audible version of His glorious Word.

    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

