Finish Well


Motivating Factors – Matt Dougherty’s posterous (I know it sounds wrong).

My son Matty is the head coach for Track and Cross Country at Easter Mennonite University. He posted this video on His blog. As I watched Bevin Docherty win this triathlon, I found myself reflecting on how we are told in the word to run the race:

“Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us” Heb 12:1

“Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.” 1 Cor 9:24

“I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Phil 3:14

Like a triathlon, life is something of an endurance race. We have to face trials and tribulations and overcome them. When the man in blue took off, it looked like Bevin was defeated. You can see him try to respond, but he could not match the pace. He drops further and further behind, seemingly having ceded the race. Yet He did not give up. Instead, Bevin reached deeper inside and somehow found the strength to propel him ahead of his erstwhile competitor and win.

There will be times when we have nothing left, when we feel like giving up, count on it. Yet, when those times come, we must focus not on our circumstances, but upon the finish line. If we do this, then we will be able to stand with Paul and say:

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2 Tim4:7

Many of us are tired and weary now. It has been hard, and much endurance has been required. If you have ever contemplated an triathlon, then you will know that Bevin was tired as well. He had already swum, bicycled and run many miles, but tired as he was, he was able to reach inside and find what he needed to overcome and finish well. I believe God is speaking to each of us, even now and telling us to reach inside and grasp hold of the strength He has deposited inside us so we can press through. The tape is just ahead, will you give up now in sight of the finish line, or will you reach inside and find what you need to run the race?

“To him who overcomes I will give some of the hidden manna to eat. And I will give him a white stone, and on the stone a new name written which no one knows except him who receives it.”  Rev2:17

About hisfool

I am a pilgrim on a journey, one which I pray leads to the day when I stand before the throne of God and hear "Well Done!" Along the way I have encountered good times and bad, been wounded and healed, fallen only to rise again. It does not make me any better, but perhaps, it makes me a little wiser and I pray a little more compassionate.
This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finish Well

  1. code says:

    I read this today and I am facing serious opposition and placed in a situation where I feel completely trapped. I feel like giving up and giving in. I’m weary and tired. Being ethical has a huge price tag. My heart cries out in grief.

Leave a Reply

